View archival description

Collection D434 - Royal Commission Maps of crofting holdings, 1892

Identity area

Reference code

GB 232 D434


Royal Commission Maps of crofting holdings, 1892


  • 1892 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

65 maps

Context area

Name of creator

Royal Commission on the Highlands and Islands (1893) (Napier Commission) (1875-1884)

Administrative history

This Commission, under the chairmanship of Lord Napier and Ettrick, was appointed in March 1883 "to enquire into the condition of the Crofters and Cottars in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland, and all matters affecting the same, or relating thereto". The Highlands and Islands were defined by the Commission as comprising the counties of Argyll, Inverness, Ross and Cromarty, Sutherland, Caithness, Orkney and Shetland. Crofters were defined as persons holding land for agricultural or pastoral purposes, individually or in common, directly from the proprietor, at an annual rent not exceeding £30. Cottars were defined as occupants of houses at an annual rent not exceeding £2, and holding no land or pastoral privileges directly from the proprietor. Holders of long leases or ground rent were not included. The Commission's Report was published in 1884 together with the great bulk of the written evidence. The oral evidence was published in the same year in a further series of four volumes.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Deposited by the Highland Council Archaeology Unit, Apr 1997

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Royal commission, (Highlands and Islands, 1892), survey plans of crofting holdings on 1” - 1mile OS showing land scheduled as suitable for extension of existing crofting holdings and land scheduled as suitable for new crofting holdings.

Maps cover: Campbeltown, Bowmore, Killean, Arran, Portaskaig, Jura, Rothesay, Colonsay, Kilmartin, Inverary, Tiree, Iona, Mull, Oban, Balquhidder, Coll, Tobermory, Ben Nevis, Barra, Gighay, Rum, Arisaig, Loch Eil, Glen Roy, Kingussie, Minginish, Glenelg, Clunie, Fort Augustus, Tomintoul, Benbecula, Portree, Applecross, Lochcarron, Hougary, Sollas, Rudha Hunish, Gairloch, Inverbroom, Alness, Cromarty, Scarp, Tarbert, Isle of Lewis, Latherton, Wick, Hoy (Orkney), Copinsay, Kirkwall, Stronsay, Westray (Orkney), Sanday (Orkney), Sumburgh (Shetland), Lerwick (Shetland), Whalsey (Shetland), Yell (Shetland), Unst (Shetland), Inverness, Ullapool, Lairg, Golspie, Cape Wrath, Reay

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Item level catalogue available from Highland Archives, Inverness

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Notes area

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Rights area

Accession area