View authority record

Stornoway Sheriff Court

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Stornoway Sheriff Court

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Stornoway Sheriff Court operates within the Sheriffdom of Grampian, Highlands and Islands, which also comprises the courts situated at Aberdeen, Banff, Dingwall, Dornoch, Elgin, Fort William, Inverness, Kirkwall, Lerwick, Lochmaddy, Peterhead, Portree, Stonehaven, Tain and Wick.

The sheriff court at Stornoway was the ordinary court for the Isle of Lewis. Shortly after the Second World War, Harris, with the exception of Bernera, formerly under the jurisdiction of the sheriff-substitute at Portree as part of the Lochmaddy or Long Island District, passed into that of the sheriff-substitute at Stornoway. This does not appear to be covered by any statutory order.

As of The Sheriff Court Districts (Alteration of Boundaries) Order 1996, Stornoway Sheriff Court District covers wards 1-23 in the area of Western Isles.

Sheriffs of Stornoway
1827 John MacKenzie (sheriff-substitute)
1837 John MacKenzie (sheriff-substitute)
1847 A L MacDonald (sheriff-substitute)
1857 A L MacDonald (sheriff-substitute)
1867 A L MacDonald (sheriff-substitute)
1877 Charles Grey Spittal (sheriff-substitute)
1887 John Black (sheriff-substitute)
1897 George James Campbell (sheriff-substitute)
[Administrative history taken from National Records of Scotland online catalogue]


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Control area

Description identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes