View authority record

Stornoway Masonic Lodge, (Fortrose Lodge), Stornoway, Isle of Lewis

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Stornoway Masonic Lodge, (Fortrose Lodge), Stornoway, Isle of Lewis

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



In 1765, a Customs House was established in Stornoway to combat the smuggling of contraband, which was rife at that time. In 1767, Archibald Smith, Collector of
Customs from Edinburgh and one of the original Petitioners was appointed R.W.M. of the first Masonic Lodge in the Hebrides - Lodge Fortrose No. 135 (now No 108 ).
Named after the then Laird of the island, Viscount Fortrose (later to become the 6th Earl of Seaforth ) the Lodge, in the ensuing years, was to become the focal point in the development of the town and its various organisations. In good times and bad, the Lodge and its building was the centre of all social activity and source of much dispensed charity during the following years.
By 2011, some 3500 candidates from all walks of life have passed through its porch or entrance. From figures of national importance and worldly fame, to men of humble origin and simple station.
The Lodge building was constructed in 1819 with subsequent extensions and boasts a Temple, Ante Room, Museum and Library, Masters Room, Candidates Room and Lounge on the first floor, and at ground level a kitchen, function room, members' bar and ladies room.
Source: Logde Fortrose 108 website


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Control area

Description identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes