View authority record

Lewis Education District Sub-Committee

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Lewis Education District Sub-Committee

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Education Act of 1918 had the effect in the Western Isles of abolished School Boards of Achmore, Barvas, Lochs, Stornoway and Uig, replacing them with a single School Management Committee. This new body was responsible to the local education authorities (LEA) which sat separately to Council Councils but covered the same areas. The LEA was responsible to the Scottish Education Department. The Management Committee consisted of parents and teachers as well as representatives from the Education Authority.
The Local Government Act 1929 incorporated Local Education Authorities into their respective County Councils. Management of schools in Lewis fell to the Lewis District Educational Sub-Committee. Local government reorganisation in 1975 saw the abolition of the Committee, its responsibilities transferring to the new Education Committee of Comhairle nan Eilean (Western Isles Islands Council).


Isle of Lewis

Legal status

Public Authority

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Control area

Description identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes